Countdown to Christmas Day 26

Over the fall and winter (and in particular over the holidays) I seem to have an abundance of apples and oranges in my fridge and my girls will only eat them so many days in a row! I often use the apples or oranges with my pork recipes or in a smoothie for a snack but another great use for them is muffins! I like to give my girls a muffin (or half a muffin) instead of a granola snack as I believe it satisfies their tummies more and I know what is in them. They are also great for quick breakfasts over the busy holidays and great to have on hand for surprise holiday house guests!!

I have had 2 recipes on hand for a few years that I have altered over time to make a little more healthy. I tend to substitute whole wheat flour for white flour, brown sugar for white sugar and I always add at least 1/4 flax-seed to everything. I like to use recipes that have less sugar and more natural sweeteners (fruits) or find ways to do it. Honey is also an excellent alternative to sugar however; the measurements may vary so I always recommend a few “test runs” before serving them to guests.

I have yet to try  making the muffins gluten-free but would love to hear if you have altered your recipes to do so. I have used sugar alternatives (ie: splenda) for baking as my grandfather was diabetic and this is what his doctor recommended if sugar had to be used. I will say it did tend to change the taste a bit but with the right mix still tasted delicious!

I will post the recipes in 2 separate posts so they are easier to find in future!!

Happy Baking!!

Leave a comment